OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


HHH
30 October 2003
8:06 pm

Well, last night was interesting to say the least.

I arrived at the pub to meet Scott and Lee at around 6. By that point I was feeling awful and the tube had been horrible. I was not happy. We stayed in the pub for about two hours, Lee and I had a fight, I drank coffee with whiskey and then we headed to the show. The opening band (Franz Ferdinand) were pretty good but Lee and I were both a little let down by their performance. We'd heard that they were amazing when, in reality, they were just ok.

Between the two bands, Scott's new woman Krisha and I went to the bar. While there, we met Har Mar Superstar. We chatted to him briefly, marvelled at the oddness of the encounter, and returned to the show.

Hot Hot Heat were fan-fucking-tastic. Seriously. Lee bought the tickets for me as a gift because I absolutely love them and they didn't disappoint at all. Scott and I were dancing like mad and loving it.

Towards the end of the set I really needed the bathroom and Krisha wanted to get more drinks, so we made our way back to the bar area. Har Mar came up to us while we were there and we started chatting again. It turns out that he's from Minneapolis and knows someone I used to live with and her friend, with whom I worked in Boston. It was incredibly odd. K kind of pissed him off by insisting that his music was electroclash. He didn't really seem to appreciate that.

HHH started to play Bandages so we decided to make our way back to the show. Unfortunately, the bouncer intervened as I casually tried to follow HMS backstage and I was forced to retreat to the balcony with all the other commoners. Oh well.

After the AMAZING gig, we ended up in some afterhours bar in SoHo where I demonstrated both a jazz run and jazz hands and where Krisha spilled half a pint over Lee's stomach because he'd fallen asleep on the bench. To be honest, we were all pretty smashed and by that point I was feeling a-ok. It's amazing how enough alcohol can make you forget that you're sick - until the morning that is.

I woke up today not being able to swallow at all. By 9:30 I was showered and at the doctor's emergency hours. It turns out I have strep throat. UGH. So, I'm now armed with horse pill sized antibiotics and plenty of lozenges. I was off today and I'm not working tomorrow either. There is no way I'm going to be sick for our trip next week. I am going to will myself well if that's what it takes!

Right. I have to go eat some yummy risotto Lee's just made. It's calling my name. Lee's band on the day: The Decemberists

previous - next