OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


What we did on our French vacation . . .
02 December 2004
5:45 pm


1) Explored the rocky seaside in Biarritz which looked a lot like this:

and this:


2) struggled to find restuarants offering vegetarian options, but still managed to eat way too much really good food including amazing chocolate and Gateau Basque. Gateau Basque just might be the most deliciously simple dessert ever. I'm going to find myself a recipe and make it for everyone I love so they too can experience the gastronomic orgasms I've enjoyed over the last few days.

3) took the train to Spain for the afternoon on Tuesday. I met a Mormon from Wyoming on the train. No offence to any Mormons out there, but her overt friendliness and Jesus talk was downright creepy. I'm sure she was a very nice person, she was just a little too, well, Christian. Anyway, it's amazing how little Spanish I remember. I kept trying to string together phrases that were half in German. I don't know how those multi-lingual people you hear about who speak seven languages manage do it.

Here is a picture of us on the train to Spain.

4) did a little shopping for both ourselves and family/friends.

5) flew with the most budget airline on Earth. The seats didn't recline and I swear there were way more than there should have been on a 737. That said, I survived the flight without any sedatives which is quite an accomplishment for me.

The trip was amazing but too short. I'll write more about it when I get my proper pictures back. Right now my head feels like it's going to explode with all the things I need to do in the next few days. I can't believe I leave on Monday; I never expected it to come so quickly. I wish I were still in the Pays Basque doing this:

I need to keep packing and start getting ready to go out. We're going to see And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead tonight - it should be a good show.

previous - next