OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


she wants to move
26 August 2004
1:53 pm

The festival weekend has come and gone. I�m now back at work fighting a horrible cold but really looking forward to both the upcoming bank holiday weekend and my trip home (7 days!).

Memorable Festival Moments:

FRIDAY

  • Losing my ticket right before entering the site. Thankfully I found it after setting off a slight panic and much teasing.
  • Pitching a tent in the pouring rain and then crawling into our hooded sleeping bags and pretending to be caterpillars while waiting out the storm.
  • Realising that it might have been a mistake to set up camp right next to the port-a-potties.
  • Being amazed at how many people think buying comedy hats (jester hats, cat in the hat hats etc.) is a good idea.

SATURDAY

  • Engaging in a lot of lounging around on the grass and getting a tan for the first time in years. Said activity looks something like this:

Having a tan is so foreign to me that I keep scrubbing my face because I think it�s dirty � seriously!

  • Realising just how many people like really crap bands.
  • Being amazed by the fact that Snow Patrol was bearable.
  • Bonding with T over the fact that Irish accents are just about the sexiest ones going.
  • N.E.R.D being amazing and perving over a topless Pharrell Williams. you.
  • Pixies. Again. Amazing.
  • Watching The Strokes alone with Lee while everyone else was at Massive Attack. Julian was absolutely monstered but they were still good and I don�t care what anyone else thinks, I still genuinely like them.
  • Not being able to sleep because the assholes around us kept shouting �DAN!� all night and playing around with their walkie talkies.
  • Realising that I might be a little too old for this all and that the next time around hiring a camper van is definitely in order.

SUNDAY

  • Seeing the Divine Comedy cover the Queens of the Stone Age in a 1920�s Berlin Burlesque stylee which made it sound like something off the soundtrack to �Cabaret�.
  • The Killers. Even though the sound was horrible I still enjoyed them. Mmmmmm Brandon. Also, it was during their set that, as I�d predicted earlier, we saw some fool get her tits out!
  • The Charlatans. Somehow I never really got into them but I have to say that they put on a very good show.
  • Elbow � E is for excellent.
  • Seeing a guy with his knob out while on line at the bar and then realising in horror that he was about to start urinating into a beer cup. Ok, that wasn�t so much a highlight as it was one of the more disgusting things I�ve ever seen. Damn meatheads.
  • Seeing a girl passed out on the grass with her belt sized skirt hiked up around her hips and her panties exposed. There, laying with his face fimly planted on her crotch and drooling on aforementioned panties, was a man I can only hope was a stranger before that afternoon. Classy.
  • Drunkenly dancing like mad to Kings of Leon�s set and having a blast despite the fact that we wound up there on accident after we were turned away from the tent in which Kellis was playing.
  • Singing �Don�t go Breaking my Heart� with about 20 other people on our way back to the tent.

MONDAY

  • Sitting in the parking lot for four fucking hours. Yes, that�s right - four hours. Grrrrrr.
  • Getting home and finally, after three days, taking a lovely bath in hot pink water courtesy of a Lush bathbomb I saved specifically for the occasion.

So yes, all in all it was very good and memorable weekend. I�ll tell you though � the majority of people out there (or at least those at this particular gathering) are idiots. Although, being surrounded by such complete tools does give one a sense of smug superiority. Yeah, I�m a bitch but you would be too if you had seen the things/people I saw.

I feel like crap. I went home early yesterday and might do so again today.

previous - next