OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


bit by bit
24 March 2004
1:39 pm

The fantastic night I had yesterday is definitely a contributing to the fact that I feel much better then when I last wrote. We met up with our friend K for fantastic pizza and the infamous music themed pub quiz in Highgate. The place where the quiz is held is a minor celebrity hangout and there are always rumors flying about who�s been there recently and whatnot. We�ve been to the quiz twice now and both times a former member of Suede was there. His team won last night � the bastards.

We were almost joined by one of my co-workers and a friend of his who happens to be a member of a fairly big Bristish pop band. Unfortunately, the popstar was no where to be found and my co-worker had an incident with a stray dog and was therefore unable to meet us. Don�t ask. Anyway, the three of us managed to hold our own and placed fairly well considering our relative youth and limited team size. I really like the pub too. It�s very cool somehow remains comfortable and unpretentious.

The whole night was great and I really enjoyed hanging out with K. I�ve been bemoaning my lack of close female friends lately so it�s nice to hang out with someone I really like and connect with. In fact we�re making up for lost time by hanging out with her again on Sat, at the quiz next week, and then the following weekend at an indie club near our flat. I�m really looking forward to the dancing part. I haven�t danced in ages and I think it�s high time I made dancing a more regular part of my social life. Now I just have to figure out what to wear. 10 days should be enough time to plan an outfit, right? I think I�ll be ok.

I had a dream last night that I had maggots under my skin and that the Dr. had to coax them out using bacon. I think need to stop watching television programs about parasites and tropical diseases.

So yeah, I�m feeling a lot better. I�m still anxious and a little sad but I managed to stay on the train today even though I had a �bad feeling� and was very tempted to get off and take the next one. I�ve been using a friend�s suggestion that I visualise a stop sign when I start to have negative thoughts and, as crazy and simple as it sounds, it�s actually working for me. All I need now is something to stop the near homicidal urges I�m feeling towards my annoying co-workers and figure how to get through the next four hours without stabbing myself through the neck with my pen.

previous - next