OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


bit by bit
24 March 2004
1:39 pm

The fantastic night I had yesterday is definitely contributing to the fact that I feel much better then when I last wrote. We met up with our friend K for fantastic pizza and the infamous music themed pub quiz in Highgate. The place where the quiz is held is a minor celebrity hangout and there are always rumors flying about who�s been there recently and whatnot. We�ve been to the quiz twice now and both times a former member of Suede was there. His team won last night � the bastards.

We were almost joined by one of my co-workers and a friend of his who happens to be a member of a fairly big Bristish pop band. Unfortunately, the popstar was no where to be found and my co-worker had an incident with a stray dog and was therefore unable to meet us. Don�t ask. Anyway, the three of us managed to hold our own and placed fairly well considering our relative youth and limited team size. I really like the pub too. It�s very cool somehow remains comfortable and unpretentious. The fact that it seems to attract minor celebs with indie cred amuses me too. It's very good for people watching.

The whole night was great and I really enjoyed hanging out with K. I�ve been bemoaning my lack of close female friends lately so it�s nice to hang out with someone I really like and connect with. In fact we�re making up for lost time by hanging out with her again on Sat, at the quiz next week, and then the following weekend at an indie club near our flat. I�m really looking forward to the dancing part. I haven�t danced in ages and I think it�s high time I made dancing a more regular part of my social life. Now I just have to figure out what to wear. 10 days should be enough time to plan an outfit, right? I think I�ll be ok.

I had a dream last night that I had maggots under my skin and that the Dr. had to coax them out using bacon. I think need to stop watching television programs about parasites and tropical diseases.

So yeah, I�m feeling a lot better. I�m still anxious and a little sad but I managed to stay on the train today even though I had a �bad feeling� and was very tempted to get off and take the next one. I�ve been using a friend�s suggestion that I visualise a stop sign when I start to have negative thoughts and, as crazy and simple as it sounds, it�s actually working for me. All I need now is something to stop the near homicidal urges I�m feeling towards my annoying co-workers and figure how to get through the next four hours without stabbing myself through the neck with my pen.

previous - next