OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


You give love a bad name . . .
21 October 2003
12:33 pm

The thing yesterday went fine. I was definitely worried about nothing. I even got to have some delicious Somalian food. Who knew?

I was bored this morning:

You grew up in the eighties if......

1. You've ever ended a sentence with the word "PSYCHE". Sadly, I probably did.

2. You watched the Pound Puppies. I didn�t really watch it but I had one!

3. You can sing the rap to the "Fresh Prince of Bel Air" Actually I can�t, but Lee knows every word.

4. You wore biker shorts under your skirts and felt stylish. Yep.

5. You yearned to be a member of the Baby-sitters club and tried to start a club of your own. My friend Amy and I did have one of our own!

6. You owned those lil Strawberry Shortcake pals scented dolls. Affirmative.

7. You know that "WOAH" comes from Joey on Blossom. I had a Joey Lawrence T Shirt. OK � it was a gag gift from my best friend for my 16th birthday but still!

8. Two words: M.C. Hammer Yep.

9. You ever watched "Fraggle Rock". �Dance your cares away � worries for another day� Or something like that.

10. You had plastic streamers on your handle bars. Yes.

11. You can sing the entire theme song to "Duck Tales". Yep. God, this is sad.

12. It was actually worth getting up early on a Saturday to watch cartoons.

13. You wore a ponytail on the side of your head. Yep.

14. You saw the original "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" on the big screen. That was kind of a boys� thing. Wasn�t it?

15. Hong Kong Fuey...number one super guy. My friend Jonah refused to answer anyone unless they addressed him as Hong Kong Fuey. He even went so far as to make his mother cross out Jonah and write �Hong Kong Fuey� in all of his books where it said �This book belongs to:�.

16. You made your mum buy one of those clips that would hold your shirt in aknot on the side. Yes, I had a few. *cringes*

17. Gay was happy, butch a kind of dogfood and camp meant a tent and the outdoors. To be honest � I don�t ever remember �gay� actually being used to mean happy.

18. You wore Jordache jean jacket and you were proud of it.

19. L.A. Gear... AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

20. You wanted to change your name to "JEM" and have flashing earrings. SYNERGY STARS!!!!!! Her non-Jem name was Jerica which is kind of like Erica. I had the dolls. Although I secretly wanted to be in the rival puck band � The Misfits.

21. You remember reading "Are You There God? Its Me Margaret". It�s how I learned what periods were!

22. You know the profound meaning of "WAX ON, WAX OFF" I actually had a picture of Ralph Macchio � that I�d torn out of Teenbeat or something ridiculous like that � taped to my wall. I�d kiss it nightly before going to bed.

23. You wanted to be a Goonie. Goonies NEVER say die!!!! It remains one of the best movies ever.

24. You ever wore fluorescent clothing. Yeah, and more then one colour at a time!!!

25. You can remember what Michael Jackson looked like before his nose fell off... So sad.

26. You have ever pondered why Smurfette was the only female smurf.

27. Blurple iceblocks!!! Oh, YEAH!!!!! Now you�re losing me.

28. You remember the CRAZE, then the BANNING of slap bracelets. Yep! They were banned at my school.

29. You still get the urge to say "NOT" after every sentence. I always thought that was really, really annoying.

30. You remember Hypercolor t-shirts. I owned two. Yes, shameful � I know.

31. Barbie and the Rockers were your favourite band. Nope � losing me again.

32. You thought She-ra and He-Man should hook up. I did, but weren�t they related or something?

33. You thought your childhood friends would never leave because you exchanged friendship bracelets. Many, many times. �Best friends� necklaces too!

34. You ever owned a pair of Jelly Shoes. Yes. Again.

35. After you saw Pee-Wee's Big Adventure you kept saying "I know you are, but what am I?" OH GOD!

36. You remember "I've fallen and I can't get up" AAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!

37. You remember going to the skating rink before there were in-line skates. Yep.

38. You ever got seriously injured on a Slip and Slide. Who knew grass could burn??!!? Actually, I don�t think I�ve ever been on one. I know what they are though!

39. You have ever played with a Skip-It. Um, no.

40. You had or attended a birthday party at McDonalds. Does Burger King count? I think I actually had one there when I was around 6! I definitely had one at Chuckie Cheese!

41. A kid down the road had an Atari and you were soooooo jealous! I WAS the kid with the Atari.

42. You remember Popples. I still have one. It�s orange and sits in a little room in a house on Long Island with all my other discarded stuffed animals.

43. "Don't worry, be happy" �The landlord said your rent is late. He may have to litigate . . . �

44. You wore like, EIGHT pairs of socks over tights with high top Reeboks. Yep.

45. You wore socks scrunched down. Always.

46. There was only ever one movie playing at a time at the theatre not village 8

47. You remember boom boxes vs cd players.

48. You remember watching both "Gremlins" movies. I wasn�t allowed to watch them actually.

49. You know what it meant to say "Care Bear Stare!!" HAHAHA!

50. You remember watching Rainbow Bright, My Little Pony Tales, and Shirttales

51. You thought Doogie Howser was hot. Never. But I do remember the episode where he and Wanda finally got it on to the tune of �Unchained Melody�

52. You remember Alf, the lil furry brown alien from Melmac. My Alf doll remains one of my most prized possessions. I also had a yellow sweatshirt with an iron-on Alf decal. What? Did I just admit that?

53. You remember New Kids on the Block when they were cool. I had NKOTB earrings!

54. You know what a wuzzle is, and think bumblelion is cute OH MY GOD!

55. You know all the words to Bon Jovi - SHOT THRU THE HEART. My Mother bought be �Slippery When Wet� on cassette for getting good final marks in Fourth (maybe Fifth) grade because I really, really wanted it.

56. You remember the Garbage Pal Kids Check!

57. You watched Rainbow, with Zippy, Bungle and George

58. You used to make mix tapes off the radio. I did. I also made them off the TV sometimes if a movie had a good song in it. I used to know the entire last scene of Pretty in Pink in part because I taped �If you leave� off a WPIX airing of the movie by holding my tape recorder up to the tv speakers. �This is a very beautiful (romantic?) moment and you�re ruining it for me . . .�

59. You owned a cabbage patch doll or a my child. I had 10 cabbage patch dolls including one premie, one softie, and one of the cabbage patch animal things (Koosa?)!

60. Raro or jelly crystals straight out of the packet was your favourite snack. Losing me again.

previous - next