OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Hot in the City
10 August 2003
10:11 pm

Today was the hottest ever day in England. Actually, It's been unbearably hot all weekend long. The following are things I've resorted to in an effort to keep cool:

  • Sitting around in nothing but a tank top and underwear
  • Taking multiple cold showers each day
  • Sitting with an ice cold can of fosters behind my neck and one under each arm
  • Filling the bath with ice water and pretending that it was a very small swimming pool
  • Drinking at least 3 litres of water each day (Hey, at least this one should help the weightloss efforts
  • Sleeping on the couch because it's directly beneath two large windows and there's sometimes a light breeze.

Speaking of sleeping on the couch, this heat has not been good for my sex life. It has just been, quite frankly, too hot to fuck. I hope it ends soon because this not my idea of fun. If I'm going to be hot and bothered, I'd rather it were in the sexy way.

Aside from hot, this weekend was very quiet and relaxing. I have to admit that I'm not really looking forward to working this week. The novelty of working with nice people has worn off and the reality of having a crappy office job has definitely set in. Oh well . . .

Tomorrow is weight watchers and then a new pub quiz. We're sick of losing at our regular one so we're trying another that promises to be much easier. Right. I' m off to grab some cold cans of fosters and position myself on the couch beneath the open window.

previous - next