OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Manic Monday - Fo Real!
07 July 2003
5:00 pm

It�s 4:30 pm and I�m definitely feeling that afternoon slump . . .

This weekend was lovely overall, albeit all too brief. Actually, it didn�t start off very well as I woke on Friday with the most God-awful cramps I�ve ever experienced. Seriously, they were HORRIBLE. I think that kind of wrecked my mood for the entire day because I was an enormous Bitch from morning till night.

After work Lee somehow managed to drag my sorry ass back into town where we met up with Lee�s sister, her roommate Kim, and Kim�s friend Mike. After a few tipples at various Soho hangouts, we headed to a club right by the Tottenham Court Road tube. The music was, by and large, enjoyable but I was kind of claustrophobic, not nearly drunk enough, and felt inappropriately attired. Of course, Lee thought everyone else was just trying to hard and I looked perfect but I wasn�t so sure.

Things got a bit weird while we were there due to a misunderstanding between Lee, myself, and his sister about when we�d planned on leaving and whether or not we were having fun. Needless to say, by that point we weren�t. It all seemed like a bit of a hassle. Two hours, a night bus, and a cab later, we finally got home and crashed out. Although, I did manage to stay awake long enough to make and consume a monstrosity of pasta dish. I�m a little worried about the effect that might have on my weigh in tonight but I was good otherwise so I�m keeping my fingers crossed. As long as that one slip up didn�t cause me to gain, I�ll be happy.

On Saturday we headed out to wonderful Essex (the English equivalent to NJ or Long Island as far as stereotypes go) and I had the pleasure of having my eyes examined. It seems the prescription in my left eye has worsened and I�ve developed some sort of weird blood vessel thing on my retina due to overuse of contact lenses. Nice. So, I have to wear glasses for a while before switching to a new type of more breathable lenses. *sigh * At least I got a kick ass pair of new purple (!!!) glasses to wear. Sadly, they won�t be ready for another couple of days.

Saturday night Lee and I had a stir fry feast, got drunk on a half a bottle of wine each, played Trivial Pursuit, and then listened to the entire Interpol album while laying on our respective couches in silence. It was incredibly homey, fun, and relaxing.

I had the pad to myself last night as Lee had to jet off to Coventry (lucky boy ;)) for a work thing today. I took the opportunity to read crappy magazines, do a face mask, watch the cheesiest bands on earth perform on the televised version of a radio station sponsored festival, and FINALLY got to speak to my best friend.

I haven�t spoken to Laura since I moved here and I�ve really missed her. A lot. It was amazing to talk to her. Within five minutes of the conversation I felt like we�d spoken just days ago. So much has happened in her life that even though we were on the phone for 45 minutes, I didn�t even really get to tell her anything about London! She had to go to work and the call was cut short. Today is her day off so we�re going to chat later this evening. I really can�t express how wonderful it was to just hear her voice. I have female friends here but I don�t really see any of them often enough to get really close to them. Besides, there�s only one Laura. I hadn�t realized just how much I missed having a proper girly chat. Now all I have to do is convince her to come and visit me in London.

Also, I just have to say that it�s really weird listening to your best friend talk about how she�s seeing a fairly famous director / actor / writer. When I told her this she said, �X ceases to be X when he�s the naked guy I�m lying in bed with.� In a way, that makes perfect sense. I�m sure it�s not weird at all for her anymore but as someone who has only seen him on the big screen and in print, it�s very weird for me. Hmmmmmm. Maybe she can convince him to bring her to London when he�s here the next time. I�ll have to work on that.

Coming up in the next couple of weeks:

July 24th � 27th - Trip to Liverpool to attend K and B�s wedding. We get to dress up. We get to dance! We get to drink for free! We get to stay in a hotel! Lee gets to show me around Liverpool! I get to try to convince him to let us take the horribly touristy �Magical Mystery Tour�! I get to see all the areas of his University town that I didn�t see when I was there for K�s hen night! YAY!

July 30 � August 4 � Trip to Germany! I get to see my relatives! We get to hang out with my very German cousin Jorg who, in an email to me yesterday, said, �When you here we have to take lot off drinks!� I get to play with a virtually brand new puglet! We get to explore the annual wine festival! We get to celebrate Lee�s birthday in a foreign country! WOO HOO!

I think I need to go home soon; I�m getting loopy.

previous - next