OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


There's Nothing Special About Tuesday's
01 July 2003
12:40 pm

After being nasty and grim outside all day yesterday, the sun seems to be trying to poke through the clouds again. My line manager (God I hate office speak) is away this week and as such, I�m sitting at her desk trying to organise the complete chaos that covers it. It�s interesting to sit in a different spot every once in a while. From here I can see Thames to my immediate left, and the Battersea Power Station straight ahead. When I first settled in here this morning I had another of those, �Holy shit! I really do live in London!� moments. Yeah, five months on and I still experience them every once in a while.

I can�t believe it�s Tuesday already; the weekends go by way too quickly. In contrast to last weekend's debauchery in Liverpool, this was a rather calm one. I don�t really think we did much on Friday but on Saturday, we headed over to Scott�s new place and walked along Victoria Park until we settled in at a pub. After a few hours of tipples and sun drenched conversation, we returned to his flat, met his housemate and about 10 of her friends, and iduldged in a bit of drink and other things. The whole afternoon felt very decadent and indulgent. I was kind of disappointed that we didn�t go out dancing with the crowd but from what I�ve heard since, we didn�t miss much.

On Sunday we headed over to Lee�s sister�s house for a barbeque with her flatmate Kim. Although it took us about an hour and a half, we managed to get the damn thing successfully hot and feasted on veggie kebabs and Linda McCartney burgers. It was gorgeous outside, so we sat sipping some wine (but only a little in my case as it�s not very ww friendly) and taking in the lazy afternoon.

Speaking of weight watchers, I had my first weigh in last night. I was really nervous since I went over my points allowance on Saturday with the vodka crans, the nachos we split at the pub, and the pasta concoction I made while watching the Glastonbury highlights at about midnight. There were some days where I was under my points and for the most part I was very good all week. The good news is that it must have ended up balancing out somehow because I lost four pounds since last Monday! Hurrah!! The bad news is that I�ve now dropped into a lower points allowance group and get to eat two points less each day! Boo. Hiss.

In other news, although I'm incredibly happy, I've been experiencing various sorts of existential crises' lately. They're really too predictable and dull to go into right now. Maybe another time . . .

previous - next