OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Blah, Blah, Blah
20 May 2003
4:25 pm

I leave for NY / Pittsburgh a week from tomorrow and I�m getting really, really excited. It�ll be fantastic to see my parents. While there I will also be acting as a maid of honour at one of my closest friend�s wedding, probably attending another at which I�ll be able to see loads of mis amigos, and having my hair coloured (going lighter). What�s not to look forward to? Hmmmm . . . I guess the answer to that is flying, and being apart from Lee for 9 days. I know it sounds clingy and whiny but I�m going to miss him a lot! Even though we spent over a year being thousands of miles away from one another, I�ve grown used to being with him nearly everyday. I�m sure that once I�m en route I�ll be too excited to think about being apart, but until then it makes me kind of sad.

There�s a lot going on this week so things are kind of hectic. Unfortunately last night, our only real night in this week, we managed to spent 4 hours playing Silent Hill 2. We did finish it and discover the bonus goodies, but four hours is a bit much no matter what the reward. Yes, I admit it. I am a horror survival video game dork. *le sigh*

Tonight we�re off for drinks / dinner in honour of Lee�s sister�s birthday. I�m not sure where we�re going, but there was some talk of tapas. Tomorrow night I might be making an appearance at another friend�s birthday drinks, while Lee is off watching the football. On Thursday I think we�re going to see that Matrix thingy and on Friday we�re heading out with a big group to see the Dandy Warhols. I haven�t heard the new album yet but I like their older stuff. Plus, Even though Courtney Taylor Taylor's new haircut is horrible, he's still yum.

Then I have a four day weekend before heading to the airport on Wednesday morning. That�s right, it�s time for another bank holiday over in these here parts. Have I told you lately how much I love this country? As if having Monday off weren�t enough, because I work in a gov office, we�re closed on Tuesday as it�s the Queen�s birthday! I, for one, plan to set aside a few moments on that day to reflect in silence about how the Queen has touched my life.

Things at work have been busy lately which I think is very good for my mental health. I get bored easily and unfortunately, I don�t tolerate boredom very well. This week I�ve been busy catching up with things, emailing people, filing out my application form, and making sure everything is ok and up to date before I leave. I was here until 5:45 last night and actually contemplated staying later. That�s never happened before! That said, it would appear that the key to my contentment in the workplace is to be continuously occupied. Who knew?

previous - next