OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Night on Earth
05 March 2003
11:09 am

After work last night, I boarded the #24 bus from Pimlico and headed towards Tottenham Ct. Rd. to meet up with Lee and Scott. During the 15 minute ride we passed Victoria Cathedral, Westminster Abbey, and Trafalgar Sq. In the light of a newly setting sun, the scenery was just breathtaking. I felt incredibly lucky to be right there at that moment.

Much to my surprise, I found the pub without getting lost and made it there pretty quickly. Super agent lover man had a kiss, wine, and camel lights waiting for me. *swoons* Josslyn and Martyn turned up soon after and we headed out to a basement restaurant for cheap Italian food. Goodbyes were said and Martin left, a spliff was smoked and we were soon inside The Astoria.

Thin, gorgeous, cooler-than-thou hipsters packed the house. It might have been the pot smoked beforehand or maybe the recent memory of 90 some odd deaths in a RI club, I�m not sure which. What I do know is that something set me off and I felt like I was suffocating. I managed to watch a few numbers of HM Superstar�s set, although I�m really not sure I needed to see a Ron Jeremy look alike gyrate in bikini briefs while covering Stevie Wonder songs.

Soon after the fantastic, although inappropriately booked, The Kills began I thought I was going to pass out. Ever the gentleman, Lee insisted on following me out of the crowd and we tried to find a space with some more air. I�d forgotten my tee shirt at work and was stuck wearing a fairly heavy black turtleneck sweater. I was seriously overheating and felt close to fainting throughout their set. Once they finished, nauseous and sweating, we made our way to the bar area and decided to leave. If I�d stayed I would have either vomited or passed out. I really didn�t have a choice.

On the bus to Liverpool St. I was apologetic and sad that we missed the YYY�s, but happy to be out of the venue. I�d just started to doze when Lee sprang from his seat and ran off the bus. Still foggy from what had happened earlier, it took me a few minutes to realize why he was jumping up and down and screaming expletives in the middle of the financial district. He left his bag at work so he didn�t have to take it to the show. His keys were in his bag. I don�t have a full set of keys. Right. A taxi was hailed and many �prayers� said as we sped towards Centre Point hoping the electronic doors to his office building hadn�t yet been locked.

Thankfully, they hadn�t. We went back on the bus towards Liverpool Street, caught the overland to Ilford, boarded the 179 to S. Woodford, and an hour and a half later we were home. The night was fun, exhilarating, frightening, maddening, frustrating, comical, and exhausting. I�m knackered this morning and fell asleep with my head on Lee�s shoulder on the tube earlier. He�s in a meeting all day and then has football tonight. After work I�m heading back to clean the flat and do the washing up. Our kitchen looks like a warzone at the moment. I have a feeling we�ll both crash out kind of early tonight and that�s fine with me.

In other news:

  • I have no clothes and feel frumpy and unstylish.

  • Still waiting for my tax thingy. Big money, big money, no whammies, no whammies, STOP!

  • Central London at night is pretty darn cool. I can�t wait to get the chip for the digital camera and take some pictures so I can post them here!

  • I�m not really homesick, but I do miss my friends.

  • My parents are MIA and I don�t think they like me anymore.

  • I miss the pugs.

  • I�m really looking forward to the weekend! Roll on Friday . . .

  • I need new earrings.

  • Young kids here seem to favour complicated pants. I�ll take a picture when I can to explain. There really are no words.