OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Monday, Monday
03 March 2003
4:27 pm

Four o�clock on a Monday afternoon and things are winding down at the office where am currently employed as a temporary worker. Although I was unusually tired this morning, I�m feeling well refreshed now. I think it has to do with the fact that I�m all psyched for our local pub quiz tonight! Lee and I are determined to kick some ass and hopefully with the help of his sister and her flatmate, we�ll be able to do so.

This weekend was a lot of fun. Friday night I travelled home from work and Lee and I had a date at an Italian restaurant in our hood. The staff were incredibly friendly and the food was gorgeous. It�s definitely someplace we�ll visit again. After stuffing ourselves with starch and cheese (healthy, eh?) we headed back to the flat, drank some vino, watched �True Romance� and decided that Brad Pitt is hysterical in it, and then packed before heading to bed rather early in anticipation of having to rise at 6:45 on Saturday.

After slowly and painfully dragging our asses out of bed on Sat morn, we embarked on A-REALLY-FUCKING-ANNOYING-AND-LONG-GOD-DAMMIT-YOU BLASTED-CENTRAL-LINE-I-HATE-THE-TUBE journey to Paddington Station. I was a little overly excited about being in Paddington Station and although I really wanted marmalade sandwiches in honour of Mr. Paddington Bear, I settled for a yummilicious croissant. Forty-five minutes and 44 � (!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!) later, we were on our way to Newbury to visit some of Lee�s hometown buddies.

We spent the majority of Saturday at the races!! I�d never been to a race track before, and although I�m fairly certain that if I though about it long enough I�d be ethically opposed to horse racing in general, it was loads of fun. Because we�d spent nearly all our money on the train ride that morning, we didn�t really have enough to bet and drink. So, while everyone else got absolutely shitfaced and bet, we just stuck with the gambling. Although we didn�t really win anything, we didn�t lose that much either. I even won on of my bets! It was on the last race of the afternoon and the horses name was Bourbon Manhattan. I pretty much had to pick him with a name like that, right?

The races were followed by dinner and then drinks at a local pub. Everyone was pretty much gone by that point and it was pretty amusing all around. We eventually hoped back on the train and made our way back to our accommodation for that evening. After some smoking of the herb (with an �h� sound now that I live here) much hilarity ensued. A few of Lee�s friends danced together, I suddenly started insisting that I loved Elton John (I don�t, I swear), and the entire room broke out into a chorus of Madonna�s �Like a Prayer.� I pretty certain that we were all about to pass out at that point and the next thing I knew I had woken up to bright sunlight and the sound of a bloke named Toby snoring loudly.

That pretty much sums up our activities at the weekend. Although being away is always fun, it was nice to return to our flat and our nice soft bed. Money is really tight right now which is kind of stressful, but I think we�re going to be OK. I just really need to start sussing out the job market and start concentrating on what it is exactly that I�m looking for in that respect. I�ve thought about it a little and have decided that whatever it is I end up doing, I absolutely have to REALLY enjoy it. I�m too young and too smart to be stuck doing a crap job. I know there�s something out there for me and I�m going to find it. I just have to remind myself not to settle for anything that either bores me or makes me miserable.

We have a busy week ahead. Tonight, as I mentioned earlier, is the pub quiz. We need to come up with a name for our team. Last week we were �Freddie Starr Ate My Hamish� which is apparently a reference to a famous tabloid headline and a cat. I don�t get it; it has to go. Any suggestions will be welcomed. Tomorrow night we�re going to see the Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs with Har Mar Superstar, and The Kills. I�m really looking forward to that actually � my first ever show in England! Woo Hoo! I even have an appropriately 80�s rock chick-esque outfit picked out. How big a dork am I? Wait, don�t answer that.

previous - next