OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Bits and Bobs
2003-02-17
1:58 p.m.

On the job front: Well, It�s Monday and I�m back at the old temp job. Really, as far as temp jobs go � this one isn�t so bad. I definitely have a few quirky co-workers and whatnot, but all in all I�d have to say the place is ok. I sit in an office with really nice views and can even see Lee�s building from my desk. I think that�s kind of neat, and every once in a while I wave in his general direction even though I know he can�t possibly see me doing so.

Temping is always weird to a certain extent. Since I�m here for a few months I guess it�s kind of different, but you never really feel like you belong as a temp. People are being very nice to me though, which is an improvement on how it was when I did some temping in Boston around 1999 � 2000. The main thing that I�m excited about is that come Friday I�ll have my first pay cheque.

Lee and I are kind of po at the moment due to various charges we�ve incurred during the move, so it�ll be nice to have some money in the bank account I�ve finally managed to procure. The big fat tax return I�m expecting from the wonderful government of my home country will also be much appreciated. It�s frustrating because there are loads of things I�d like to buy for the apartment, and many things I want to be able to do that unfortunately require money I just don�t have.

Note to self : when seeking permanent job make sure that it pays at least half way decently. I�m twenty-five. I deserve to start making a somewhat more plentiful and �adult� salary. Living pay cheque to pay cheque is a bitch and something I�m a bit tired of having to put up with.

On the social scene: I had a lovely weekend wherein much debauchery and chaos occurred. It took me almost three hours to get home on Friday night. As it was Valentine�s Day, this didn�t really please me all that much. I did however get to witness a very exciting altercation on the tube during which two men starting beating the crap out of one another and I had to go get the transit police! Needless to say I was a little fed-up and tired by the time I returned to our little East London abode. Imagine my delight when I found that Lee had cooked us dinner, bought some wine, and also got me �Harold and Maude� on DVD! Our night in was relaxing, romantic, and lovely. We must have been pretty tired though because we both crashed out before ten!

Saturday morning I headed to deep, dark, Essex to join Ali, Clair, Sezzy, Ms M, and Cheryl for a day of girlie festivities. We had lunch followed by a relaxing afternoon of videos, facemasks, and sweets. Mmmmmmmm ~ Iced Gems ~ Mmmmmmm ~ Jammie Wagon Wheels ~ Mmmmmmmmmm! That night we drank, danced, and drank some more. It was a fun filled evening all around and it was nice getting to know Ms M and Cheryl! We boogied like jive ass turkeys until the wee hours of the morn. Somewhere in there a musician at an Irish pub did a rousing medley of NY related songs in my honour and two separate creepy old men told me I had gorgeous eyes. It was a very odd night indeed.

Yesterday morning I essentially crawled home in agony (really, I took the bus but I was definitely in agony) and set about cleaning the flat with Lee. We had the crew from the previous night over for pizza and sordid tales of twisted testicles (don�t ask). Unfortunately, everyone was pretty damn tired and faded pretty rapidly. Although, as Lee pointed out once everyone had left, the atmosphere was appropriately mellow for a Sunday evening. Anything else would have been too hectic. We then watched �The Thing� and I was in bed by 10:30. Hey, you have to go to bed pretty early when you get up at 7 something. I need my beauty *cough, cough* sleep.

I don�t think we really have much on the plate for this week, as money is pretty tight. Most nights we�ll probably stay in and watch movies or play Coventry Edition Monopoly. In the end though that�s fine with me because I�m really starting to get a hang of this whole domesticity thing. Lee�s rents are coming into town next weekend and bringing a load of his movies, records, games, etc. It�ll be nice to have that stuff around and to be able to decorate more.

OOOOOOOHHHHHHHH!!! On a final note, Lee�s little sister has given me her old digital camera. Once I get the proper accessories for it (hopefully soon) I�ll be able to take pictures and post them here. I'm SO excited!

previous - next