OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


two days . . .
06 October 2005
12:01 pm

My friend Vanessa and I witnessed something amazing while traveling to work on the 66 bus this morning. A young John Goodman look alike was totally rocking out to what I can only assume was the rap playing through his headphones. He was throwing gang signs, air scratching records, doing the robot, and waving his hands in the air like he just didn�t care. At nine o�clock in the morning. On public transportation. Looking like John Goodman.
Yes, my friends, this man was completely and utterly bonkers. Since moving back to Allston, I�ve noticed, that there seems to be a disproportionately high number of "special" people in the hood. I�m not sure if I wrote about it here, but a couple of months ago I had an incident on the bus. I bumped (gently) into a lady while trying to get off the 66. I did so because SHE stopped short in the aisle. I told her that I was sorry, which I was, and she proceeded to flip the fuck out. You really had to be there to appreciate it, but this lady completely lost it and started screaming and cursing at me on the top of her lungs. She then pushed me with both of her hands so that I fell backwards. When the driver made her get off the bus, she stood at the bottom of the steps and continued to scream at me. It was so scary that I refused to get off the bus because I feared for my safely.
This morning I accidentally lightly elbowed the dancing man at which point he turned around and shot me the dirtiest stare I�ve ever seen. All I could think of was the aforementioned incident with the screaming lady. It was a little tense for a moment as I thought it was going to happen all over again.
I�d really like to know why the regular riders of the 66 are so . . . interesting. I just don�t get it. The only possible explanation I�ve thought of so far is that it might have to do something with the high concentration of hospitals in this area. Maybe they're all going to and from appointments with doctors or social workers. Anyway . . . the moral of the story? Crazies don�t like to be touched. On second thought, maybe it's that I shouldn�t ride the bus with Vanessa anymore as she was with me on both occasions. Hmmmmmmmmm.
I fly to London the day after tomorrow; I can�t wait. More on that later.
On a completely random note, how boring are Keane? I can't stand them.

previous - next