OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Everything seems better when you've just had a kick ass new haircut . . .
30 September 2005
2:15 pm

From today's New York Times:


Chavs, whether rich or poor, tend to favor gaudy jewelry and expensive-but-tacky clothes with big logos and to behave in a way that others find coarse or obnoxious.

Male chavs wear tracksuits and baseball caps; female chavs pull their hair tightly back in buns or ponytails, a style known as a "council house facelift," from the term for public housing.

The derivation of the word chav, which began to be widely used about a year ago as the problem of binge drinking in Britain's towns and cities became a huge national issue, is murky. Some say it comes from an 18th century Romany word meaning "child"; others believe it may come from the town of Chatham in Kent, known, apparently, for its large chav population (the theory that it is an acronym for Council Housed and Violent is most likely untrue).

Chav behavior - outrageous spending sprees, drunken brawls, inappropriate public displays of affection, screaming matches with loved ones in bars, destruction of property, late-night stumbling and/or vomiting - provide celebrity magazines here with much of their material.

Best definition ever.

It actually hit me this morning, as I rode the bus to work, that I am leaving for England a week from tomorrow. I am so excited. I miss London a lot. I miss my friends even more. Most of all, I miss Lee. It's going to be brilliant. Finally, I have decided that Ali and Dan have to have a baby girl because I need someone to buy this pink onesie for. Otherwise I might have to buy it for my (not anywhere in the near) future child and that would be a little strange.

previous - next