OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


. . . das gab ein grosses Feuerwerk . . .
04 July 2005
11:06 pm

So I didn't end up watching the 4th of July spectacular down by the river - those plans fell through. I decided not to venture outside alone, but to lounge on the couch whilst reading "Jane Eyre" and watching the live telecast.
In doing so, I've decided that whomever chooses the musical acts for this thing needs to be sacked immediately. Big and Rich? Cowboy Troy?* Gretchen Wilson? This schlock is supposed to make me proud to be an American? I don't think so. Also rather off-putting were the many people interviewed dressed entirely in red, white, and blue waving their little flags and droning on about "our great nation." Where do these yahoos come from? Maybe it's just the select few that were interviewed but damn, some of those people were straight up freaky.
I did discover quite by accident and much to my delight, that I had an almost perfect view of the fireworks from the living room window.

Here is a crappy little camera phone pic that really doesn't do it any justice at all:

Here is a pic I found somewhere that is a little more like it:

I love fireworks. Lee arrived in America three years ago yesterday to spend the summer with me. That July 4th we sat by the banks of the river and stared in awe at the pyrotechnics as they threatened to rain down on us. They were so huge and close that it was down right awe inspiring. That was a magical night. Tonight was kind of (but nearly quite as) magical as well. There's just something about fireworks that makes the little girl inside me smile as the sky is filled with beauty and somehow hope.


*I might have to take back what I said about Cowboy Troy. Hick Hop Muzik? That might just be the greatest thing I've ever heard. Thinking about his very existence does, in fact, make me feel enormously proud.

previous - next