OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


We've Been Had
10 January 1970
12:45 pm

There are a few things that have been causing me to be pretty stressed out and sad lately. Such things include:

1) Mom having breast cancer
2) Being far away from the person who means the most to me
3) Being lonely
4) Feeling sick on and off for a whole month
5) General feelings of confusion and disorientation
6) Ear discomfort
7) Weird friends and pathetic assholes

As such, I'm going to continue the previous entry's theme and make a list of things that make me smile. Hopefully this list will be longer than the one above. And so it goes :

1) Fab new haircut. Many thanks to the lovely T and D for the recommendation! You were right - she was great.
2) Pint after pint of iced green tea. It's absolutely delicious and really good for you. What more could I ask for in a non-alcoholic beverage?
3) Having a freshly cleaned bedroom. Somehow sleeping somewhere uncluttered and organized makes me feel like I have it together in all aspects of life.
4) Upcoming Wedding Present show.
5) Lunching outside on prematurely warm sunny days.
6) My new friend at the office whose company I truly enjoy. She's just great.
7) Finding a pub quiz in town MC'd by an old friend. It made the fact that we came in last seem a lot less shameful than it actually was.
8) Martha Wainwright
9) Renewed interest in losing the 6 pounds I still have to lose in order to hit goal.
10) Living vicariously through my future wife's excitement at going to NYC.
11) Long chats with LA living best friend and hatching plans to return to NY together within a few years.
12) The promise of birthday festivities this weekend in K-Mac's honor.
13) Study/life plans coming together
14) Brendon Benson
15) Unconditional love, support, friendship, and respect from across the pond. It means more to me than I could ever really convey.

I could go on but this list is already pretty lengthy. I suppose that, although the negative things often seem to carry more weight, there are plenty of things for me to be positive about right now. Mission accomplished - I feel better. That is a very good thing.

previous - next