OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


whinge, whinge, whinge
11 December 2004
2:28 pm

So . . . yesterday I was able to check my email for about 5 seconds. Good. I didn't have a pen and paper handy to write down any of the phone numbers I've stored in there. Bad. I thought I'd just return today and record them but, as I should have guessed, it's playing up again. Fucking bastard computer. I think I'm going to have to take a trip to the library on Monday to sort this out. Bah.
My parents had a party last night which was a lot of hard work but seemed to go very well. I'm helping them out at a party they're catering tonight even though I still feel like crap and am not really sure I remember how to waitress. Hopefully it'll all come back to me.
I miss Lee loads but am enjoying speaking to him every few hours. He's found a flat which makes me very happy especially since it's one I've seen and quite liked. That's one less thing I have to worry about now. I love him so. March can't come soon enough. How true that whole absense makes the heart grow fonder thing really is.
I'm enjoying being home even though my parents are more than just a little intense. I actually had to spell out to my father this morning that there is no way in hell I'm staying on Long Island past mid-January and that I will walk to Boston if I have to. I think he finally got the message.
I'm not sure what next week holds but I'm pretty sure there will be some Christmas shopping involved. Shopping is good; I like shopping. Next weekend I'm heading to Brooklyn to meet up with some friends from High School including one of my closest friends in the world. I can't wait to see them/her. Now, if only I could access the email that contains her cell phone number. Damn.
Right, I need to go continue cleaning up the mess from last night. Lesson learned: aging upper middle class suburbanites still know how to drink like rockstars and trash a house. Lip biting moment of the evening: when one of the guests said, "My wife is under strict oders not to buy anything French until those bastards change their ways. If she does then I'll beat her the way wives should be beaten." Under no circumstances would I find a comment like this to be funny but it's even worse coming from a man who, rumor has it, used to beat the crap out of his first wife. Oy vey.

previous - next