OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


friday im in office hell
16 April 2004
3:57 pm

The countdown to Vegas 2004 continues and I have so much to do it�s unreal. Between now and next Saturday I have to do the following, methinks it is going to be a very busy week:

1 x dinner to make this evening

1 x flat to clean this evening as well

5 x people to host tomorrow night

1 x birthday present to buy on Sunday

1 x birthday drinks to attend on Monday

1 x music quiz to attend on Tuesday

1 x suitcase to start packing on Wednesday

1 x bikini hot wax to get on Thursday (ouch � never done this and am nervous)

1 x ENT appointment to attend on Friday complete with surgical ear cleaning (which is as awful as it sounds) and hearing tests

P>

I went to the ladybits doctor this morning which was as fun as it always is. You know what I dislike about the healthcare system here? There seems to be a lot of red tape. For instance, I want to switch pills because I think the one I�m on now seems to have annihilated my libido. In order to do so I have to make another appointment with the doctor because this morning I saw a nurse who can�t authorise prescriptions. I mean, would it have been impossible to knock on the doc�s door and get her to type me quick script this morning? I don�t think so. I�m so frustrated by the doctors and medical system over here. Nothing seems very thorough and everything is more complicated than it should be. I won�t even go into the 10 minute long dental exam I went through last week. *end rant*

Some of Lee�s friends from home are visiting tomorrow and we�re in the process of trying to come up with a plan for the evening. The last time they were down we ended up wandering aimlessly around SoHo for hours and going in and out of about 10 different pubs before just heading home out of frustration. It seemed that people couldn�t make up their minds or agree on anything and culminated with us doing shots of horrible lemon liquor in our living room at two in the morning out of sheer frustration. I don�t think I�ll be able to handle that happening again.

I have some things to finish within the next 45 minutes so I can leave a bit early. I want to get out of here as soon as possible � I think I�m already in vacation mode. Ooooh � I forgot � I had my annual review yesterday and it went well overall although apparently a �general lack of focus" permeates my work which my manager put down to boredom. DING! DING! DING! Someone�s won a prize! Anyway, I�ve decided not to be here for more than a month after we return and this is one decision from which, for the sake of my general health and mental well being, I can�t back down.

Tonight we eat Mexican and drink gin!

previous - next