OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Rings Around the World
18 October 2003
1:50 pm

It's almost two o'clock on a Saturday afternoon and I'm still wearing my pajamas. Well, they're not really pajamas - red long sleeved BU tee shirt with cropped navy blue sweatpants with a white strip running down the sides - but they're what I slept in.

First thing today Lee and I walked to the nearest newsagent where we purchased milk, fags, diet coke, two varieties of crisps, and The Guardian. When we returned home I made yummy (Quorn) sausage breakfast sandwiches and read through the "Weekend" magazine section of the paper.

Now Lee's off at Andy's watching the rugby and I'm here enjoying some alone time. I think that I'm supposed to be cleaning the flat but I really can't be arsed. Plus, tomorrow is Sunday and that's what Sunday's are for, right? It's not like we're doing anything else tomorrow except shopping for groceries and a scarf for me.

So, instead of cleaning I think I'll give myself a manicure and do face mask or something. I might even watch "Harold and Maude." Those seem like suitably girly things to do during alone time.

Later tonight we're traveling down to Brixton to meet our Kiwi friend Leon before heading over to the Super Furry Animals gig. We saw them last summer in Boston and they were fantastic. Hopefully they won't disappoint this evening. Rumor has it they've been playing shows lately dressed as yetis. I really, really hope they do so tonight. That would be fantastic.

Finally, I have a question for y'all. When Kevin, Jef, and Kathleen come over in two weeks time (!!!), Jef is going to pierce me. At first I really wanted my nostril done but I'm probably going to be interviewing soon and I don't think a facial piercing is the best idea right now. The other thing I've been tossing around is a navel piercing. If I go for it, it'll just be a very simple stainless steel barbell. I'm kind of thinking of it as a present to myself for my weightloss so far. What I want to know is this: Belly button piercings. Yay or nay? I'm conflicted and would love advice.

previous - next