OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Mickey Monkey
15 October 2003
12:14 pm

I think I�m finally losing it. Yesterday, the first words out of my mouth were �Sammy Hagar.� Yeah, I don�t know either. Then, late last night, Lee and I had the following exchange while walking home from the tube:

Lee: It must have been a two for one deal on the train tonight for gay couples.

Me: Yeah, I noticed that myself. The ones sitting next to you were really cute. Did you see the two across from us on the Central Line? They had a monkey theme going on.

Lee: A monkey theme?

Me: Yeah. The guy on the right had a Paul Frank Julius bag, and the guy on the left was wearing a Mickey Mouse shirt.

Lee: A monkey theme??? *incredulously*

Me: YES!! *adopting an irritated tone because I couldn�t figure out why he was being weird.

Lee: Erica, what�s Mickey Mouse?

Me: Monkey. *cautiously as I realize that well, something�s not quite right*

Lee: WHAT?!?!?

Me:Mouse! I meant MOUSE!!!!!

Lee:Ha, Ha . . . you said Monkey!!!

Lee likened the whole conversation to the time I told him that I thought Scotland was on an island separate from England. This is different though, that was just stupidity. I blame that on the American school system�s lack of emphasis on Geography. The Mickey Monkey incident was a result of my being very, very tired and weary. I know that Mickey is a mouse, I swear! Really.

Last night was really nice. We decided to walk to Camden via Regent�s Park. It was that time of day when the sun is just beginning to lower itself in the sky and everything has a golden glow. Once there, we managed to get horribly lost in Camden while looking for the obscure venue. Despite the fact that it was cold and we�d been walking for ages, the yummy food we had a Wagamamas made everything better.

The show was an acoustic set featuring Lou Barlow and Jason Lowenstein. It was held in the most random venue I�ve ever been in. It was at the Cecil Sharp House, which is part of the English Folk Dance and Song Society. There were people leaning traditional folk dancing and odd types milling all around the place. On the plus side, they did have a bar in the basement but it was incredibly small and expensive.

The performance was very good and Lou and Jason were charming and entertaining. I got kind of annoyed with some of the people around us � I really am becoming antisocial � but overall, I had a fantastic evening. I�m getting old though, by the time we began to make our way home I was knackered!

A few hours ago, the Sex Pistols drove past Lee�s office building while playing �God Save the Queen� from the top of a double decker bus.

I�m hungry but don�t want to eat until 1:00pm. I�m cold and can�t stop coughing. I want to go home. Despite all that, I�m in a really good mood and have a warm glowy feeling. I blame this contentedness on Lee for being wonderful, my parents� recent visit, and the knowledge that I get to see and travel with some of my best friends very, very soon. YAY!

previous - next