OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Food For Thought
04 September 2003
4:54 pm

Right. The wonderful Shivers has drawn up some interview questions for me. If you would like me to interview you, you need to do the following:

  • Sign the guestbook, saying you want to be interviewed.
  • I will respond; I�ll ask you five questions.
  • You will update your website with my five questions, and your five answers.
  • You'll include this explanation.
  • You'll ask five other people five questions when they want to be interviewed.
    • Without further ado . . .

      1) If you found out you only had three months to live what would you do?

      I know none of these questions are meant to be easy, but I find this one particularly hard because I can�t even imagine what it would be like to be in this situation. I mean, I�d probably want to do a million things at once and try to squeeze everything into those three months that I hadn�t yet done. As clich� as it sounds, I try to live in the moment and seize the day. That said, I think I�d actually go back to NY and spend time with my parents, Lee in tow of course. Although, I�d probably insist that we stop in Vegas on the way there since it�s somewhere I�ve always wanted to go it wouldn�t matter if I lost all my money at that point. Not that I have any money, really.

      2) What is your earliest memory?

      I have a lot of memories from my early childhood that I believe to be based more on stories I�ve heard than the actual events. One thing that I know for certain is a true memory, happened when I was in pre-school. I was three when I entered a Montessori pre-school in Key West Fl where we kept a little group of mice as our classroom pets. One day one of the mice had babies who, unfortunately, all died within a week. I distinctly remember standing in the bathroom and watching my teacher Jane flush them down the toilet. It was kind of like when the Huxtables gave Rudy�s goldfish a funeral using the same method of burial, only Bill Cosby wasn�t there and I wasn�t as cute as Rudy.

      3) All you need is love? True or False?

      My answer to this one ended up turning into a novella. I need more time to think this one through. I never realized my thoughts on the matter were so complicated. I think I�ll have to put this one off for now and dedicate my next entry to the subject. I�m sorry if that�s a cop-out. I just need more time to think about it.

      4) Do you have any recurring dreams?

      Yes. I used to have one when I was little which involved a freak show and land animals being submerged in large tanks of water. I know, I�m a freak. I haven�t had that one in ages. I have one now in which I�m a high school student. At the very end of the semester I realize that I�m registered for a class, which I was meant to drop months earlier. By the time I realize this, it�s too late to do anything about it and I fail the class. Something very similar actually happened to me at college, which I�m sure the dream is based on. Although, something tells me it must also mean something larger.

      5) Where do you see yourself in five years?

      When I was younger, I found it very hard to imagine myself past age 18. Similarly, I now find it difficult to imagine myself at 30. Hopefully I will have grown up a bit and figured out what I actually want to do with myself occupation wise. Can you tell this is a big theme in my life lately? I�m not really big on the whole marriage thing at the moment, so I�ll probably still be living with Lee. To be honest I have no idea if I�ll still be in England. Although I love it here so far, I�d really like to live in NY again at some point. Although I really want a child, I don�t even think I�ll be ready to seriously consider that until I�m at least 32. Hmmmmm . . . I really haven�t a clue. I don�t have a five-year plan!! ACK!! Isn�t that like a requirement at my age? One day at a time, one day at a time.

    Wow. I didn�t expect that to be quite so thought provoking. Methinks I need to do a bit of self-reflection. I didn�t realize I was as confused as I appear to be.

    Watch - with the bizarre course my life has taken in the last few years, I'll probably be married, pregnant, and living in Paris within the next twenty-four months!

    ps - I just ate a yoghurt with my finger (don't ask) because I didn't want to go up to the 11th floor to get a spoon. Now that's a whole new level of laziness.

    previous - next