OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Hello my little friend, you do nothing!
03 September 2003
3:46 pm

The following is a prime example of why I greatly dislike working in an office. One of my more annoying co-workers is retiring soon. As such, they�re circulating a �Happy Retirement� card around the unit for everyone to sign. Before I signed it with a very neutral, �Best wishes for your retirement,� I read some of what the others had written. One entry in particular caught my eye. It read, �Although I haven�t known you for very long, I�ve working with you. I�ll remember the time we spent together doing the filing project was particular.�

OK. A) This was definitely not meant to be sarcastic. B) Although I realize that this was probably the author�s attempt at personalizing the message, c�mon � the filing project? Really, how enjoyable could that have been? I don�t know, maybe I�m being harsh here but I really can�t stand this type of surface level nicety that seems to permeate the atmosphere here. I�m sure it�s the same at most other organizations. I guess I�m just really down on my job lately and little things are starting to get to me.

Possible career ideas I�ve been tossing around:

  • Nursery School Teacher
  • Clothing Buyer
  • Journalist
  • Lady that lunches
  • Professional complainer

Ugh I�m seriously in a rut and completely at a loss for what I should do next. Does the fact that I can�t pinpoint a single job that I think I�d enjoy indicate that there�s something very wrong with me? I�m beginning to think so.

Things that suck:

  • The climate control in this office building.
  • Getting stoned and then falling asleep during the last part of �The Ring�
  • Trying out a new sample foundation that came free with a magazine and realizing hours later that it�s entirely the wrong shade.
  • Being given the runaround by the crappy mobile phone company I use.

Things that don�t suck:

  • YSL Touche Eclat
  • Visits from friends and the post visit contentedness
  • Sandie Shaw�s version of �(There�s) Always something there to remind me.� Actually, the whole �Let�s Hear it for the Girls!� compilation CD that I�m listening to at the moment. It�s rife with 60�s girl group goodness.
  • The vegetarian stuffed Italian peppers I�m going to make for Lee tonight.
  • The post dinner blow job he�s going to receive.
  • Anticipation. Right now I have a lot of things (including shows, visits, travelling, and parties) to look forward to. It�s a wonderful feeling.

    previous - next