OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


The one with the bad mood, the dress, the Australian, the birth control, the weight loss and the German
21 July 2003
1:56 pm

I woke up yesterday in a seriously foul mood. I felt like crying for no reason and couldn�t be bothered to either go shopping for a dress for the upcoming wedding, or go over to Lee�s sister�s flat for a barbeque. Lee said that he thought I was suffering some kind of second day hangover. I worried that I was slipping into depression again. Somehow, he managed to drag my ass out of the house and we ventured into town.

After hitting about five stores, I managed to procure a gorgeous light blue and purple dress with a matching shawl. It was also nice to be able to go down a size even though it seems that I�m kind of between sizes at this point. I also got a really cute black strapless top with multicoloured polka dots on it. That�s actually two sizes smaller than I normally wear! I have to admit that was pretty damn satisfying.

We did end up making it over to Jay�s house for some scrummy veggie burgers, sausages, and veggie kebabs. It was loverly, and her Australian man entertained us with stories of throwing live fish through a restaurant window and then speeding away by boat. I also found out that Bruce is one of the most common names for men Down Under. Who knew?

I went to the doctor�s this morning to get my birth control prescription refilled. As we were talking it over, she noted that I was 25 and asked if I was planning to have babies anytime soon. This made me question two things. First of all, if I were planning to have babies anytime soon would I really be asking for The Pill? Secondly, holy shit . . . I�m at an age where it would be perfectly acceptable for me to have a child. Now that�s frightening and makes me feel really old.

Weight Watchers tonight. I�m not really convinced that I�ve lost anything this week even though I�m well within my points range. We had two nights out which involved both alcohol and food. Losing weight even after that sort of indulgence seems too good to be true. I�m keeping my fingers crossed but realize that it�s not the end of the world if I stayed the same or even gained some. Tomorrow is always the start of a new week.

I�m really glad that this is only a four-day week for me. I�m also very much looking forward to going to the wedding in Liverpool come Friday. On top of that, I only work for two days next week before we hop on a plane :::chews fingers nervously::: and head for Germany.

Damn, I was going to include some excerpts from emails I�ve received recently from my German cousin. Unfortunately, our internet seems to be doing wacky things at the moment and I�m unable to access my hotmail account. Maybe I�ll try again later, it would be worth the effort as they�re hilarious.

Right. It�s freezing and I have work :::makes sick noises::: that needs doing. Thursday evening really can�t come soon enough.

previous - next