OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


No Culture Icons
19 July 2003
7:49 pm

We had Ali, Dan, and Clair over for dinner last night. I made bruschetta and cooked a mean pasta dish with a tomato and zuchinni sauce. We then ate jaffa cakes and played Scatagories. My hands now have cuts all over them because really, I shoudn't be allowed in a kitchen or near anything sharp.

I spent the majority of the day feeling like complete and utter crap. I guess consuming nearly two bottles of wine will do that to you. When I was finally able to drag myself out of bed, I pulled on some clothes and we went down to the shops for some bits and pieces. I bought grapes which I will probably never eat and will grow moldy in the refrigerator. This will cause Lee to question why I bought them in the first place, to which I'll respond by shrugging my shoulders and mumbling, "I don't know."

We've been sitting around, reading the papers, and listening to music since we got back. Right now it's Radiohead, earlier it was Mogwai. We also bought tickets online to see British Sea Power and Bright Eyes the week we get back from Germany. Tomorrow, we might go to the National Gallery to see some exhibit with a "Paradise" theme. In all likelihood we'll probably just stay around here. I'm not a Sunday person.

Sometime this week we're going to go on a date. Lee's going to buy me a dress for the wedding next weekend, and then we'll go to Wagamama's for dinner and use the buy one get one free voucher I tore out of Time Out today.

Lately, hearing people talk about marriage makes me want to get married even though it's not really something I actually want to do right now. I think I just want to be given a pretty ring and throw a massive party. Although, sometimes I get sad thinking about Lee's aversion to marriage by thinking that if he really loved me he'd put a ring on my finger because that's what little girls are taught to believe.

A piano techer recently moved into the flat across the street. As a result, we're able to hear music almost every evening until around 10. She's actually very good when she plays herself, and life is kind of sweet when it has a classical music soundtrack.

There's an ice lolly with my name on it in the freezer and "Law and Order" is on later tonight. Aces.

previous - next