OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Turn on the bright lights
24 March 2003
4:31 pm

For the first time since my arrival in England, I was a little homesick this weekend. I�m not sure what triggered it, but I missed my family and friends. I longed for cheap and decent coffee from the corner store. I found myself smiling when I heard American tourists talking to one another on The Tube. I really wanted to ring up Nancy and pop round to B & N for some chai and a healthy dose of gossip. I thought a lot about the fact that I miss driving and I craved Twizzlers.

Of course, Lee was there with hugs and smooches the whole time. I feel much better today; these things do pass. There were a lot of highlights these past few days and combined, they made it wonderful overall despite the unexpected homesickness.

Friday night we successfully met up with some friends and proceeded to get a wee bit blotto. Splitting four bottles of wine between three people on an empty stomach? Not a good idea apparently! Who knew? Lee and I made our way home around 10 (I think?). We even managed to stop for some vegetarian pizza, complete with corn as a topping, on the way. All in all it was a very enjoyable night and being in the company of such fun people definitely put a smile on my face.

I had an afternoon alone on Saturday as Lee was off watching England kick some be-kilted Scottish as in the rugby. I managed to do very little except sleep, watch bad Australian soap operas, and lounge around for six hours before making my way into town to meet up with Mr. Leemr. After a very unsuccessful search around Soho for a chip shop, we made our way to The Astoria and joined the handfuls of brooding hipsters who had queued up for the Interpol show.

They were fantastic live. It wasn�t too crowded, we had a perfect view, and I remembered to bring along my digital camera. I now have about 10 really colourful and brilliant pictures to remember it by. Nothing really beats watching an amazing band perform while the person you love stands behind you, arms wrapped around your waist, occasionally peppering the nape of your neck with soft kisses. It was magic. The show has now crept its way into my list of favourite concerts. That�s not an easy thing to do.

We trained it home, tired but warm and glowy feeling. At Stratford, our entertainment for the journey boarded our car. I can honestly say that I never thought I�d see Lee serenaded on a subway car by a tall and extraordinarily skinny man. Said man also pole danced and grabbed his crotch repeatedly. Wait, it gets better. All this gyrating, pole dancing, and serenading was done to very drunken renditions of Smiths songs. I suppose you had to be there. Let�s just say it was absolutely classic and not a little bit scary.

Yesterday we shopped, cuddled, cleaned, and watched the surprisingly entertaining �Blade.� Yes, the �Blade� with Wesley Snipes. Yeah, I didn�t think so either. It was an exceedingly warm and exceedingly lazy Sunday. Methinks it was the perfect way to end a weekend.

This morning I watched my last remaining contacts slide down the drain of our bathroom sink. As such, I am currently sporting the specs. Hey, at least I didn�t drink the contacts this time. Yeah, don�t ask.

previous - next