OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


PANTS!
04 March 2003
2:37 pm

This morning didn�t start off very well. I think it�s safe to say that I woke up on the wrong side of the bed. Since I�ve been at work things are slowly getting better. I think the coffee I�ve had is definitely helping a little. If this trend continues, I should be in a perfectly lovely mood by the time this evening rolls around. I better had be since we�re going to a show and hanging out with some more of Lee�s friends I haven�t really spent much time with.

Things Currently Pissing me off

Mystery of the Disappearing Trousers

I�m losing my pants at an alarming rate. I came to England with at least six pairs of trousers. I�m now down to three, one of which is at the dry cleaners. Currently MIA are the following:

  • favorite work appropriate dark grey flares � last seen: Coventry

  • favorite dark denim boot cut jeans � last seen: Simon and Dan�s flat

  • check pants that fit really well � last seen: A touch of class dry cleaners.

  • back-up jeans that aren�t great but are really, really comfortable � last seen: no idea

Basically this means I currently have two pairs of trousers. I wore the same pair to work three times last week!!! I have plenty of skirts but all of my tights are completely crap and keep sagging. Under normal circumstances I would just buy new trousers and / or new tights. Unfortunately I cannot do this as we are completely fucking broke.

Utter Lack of Funds

We are so broke at the moment that I can�t buy tights. We�ve had to strictly ration ourselves this week and it kind of sucks. Being this broke is a horrible, horrible feeling. Having to worry about money so much makes me nervous. It reminds me of when I was temping in Boston and I used to have to use handfuls of change to pay for cigarettes and sometimes had 23 cents or less to my name. Things will start looking better soon, especially once we get my tax return back. I�m expecting it any day now and keep obsessively calling my American bank to see if my Dad has deposited it yet. Until that goes through though, things are pretty tight.

The THREE AND A HALF (sometimes more) HOURS I spend travelling daily

I suppose this one is pretty self-explanatory. It�s just that occasionally, like this morning when we couldn�t get seats initially and I was in a crap mood, it really gets to me. I really, really hope that the Central Line starts running again soon.

It�s now nearly two in the afternoon and I�m feeling consierderably better than I was this morning. I�ve been productive and I�ve had a lovely chilli ala Lee for lunch. Only 3.25 more hours of this and I�m off to meet Lee, Scott, and Martin in the pub before the YYY�s show! I suppose things aren�t really all that bad at all. It was just one of those mornings.

previous - next