OLD

NEW

ME

DIARYLAND


Afternoon Rambling
2003-02-19
3:42 p.m.

I didn�t have a very good day yesterday. I was exhausted and the entire day just seemed to drag. The long journeys in and out of Central London had just seemed to take their toll; I was pissed off. By this time yesterday afternoon I was fighting to stay awake at my desk and dreading the potential two hour train ride home.

That all changed when I got home (fairly swiftly) and found My Monster making a gorgeous chilli dinner. We started watching �The Big Lebowski�, but I was crashed out by 9:45 or so. I swear, all this getting up early crap is turning me into an old woman! I�m going to make a point of staying up until at least 10:30 tonight. Going to bed any earlier than that seems almost absurd.

I was thinking earlier about how it seems odd that things don�t feel all that strange to me. I mean, I up and moved to a foreign country! It seems like I should feel really out of place and disoriented, but I don�t. There are definitely moments where it does all seem very surreal, but they�re becoming less frequent everyday. I already have a routine for Christ�s sake! It�s all kind of cool and oddly comforting.

One thing that�s not very comforting is this ongoing threat of terrorism. There are alerts out all over the place, and headlines on every paper about the impending war and grave danger we�re all in. I try not to let it bother me but it�s difficult. Although, I think I�m getting better about it on the tube. I just read my book or listen to some choons and try not to think about it because really, it�s out of my control. Surely, there�s not use obsessing over whether I may or may not survive a train ride home. Nevertheless, I think it�s still bothering me out on some level because I�ve been grinding my teeth like crazy while I sleep. Lee keeps waking me up in the middle of the night so that I stop. This can�t be good for my poor teeth! Ugh. I really need to stress less.

Tonight Lee is playing football and won�t be home until around 9:30 � 10:00. I�m going to use my time alone to tidy things up, finish my laundry, watch the end of �The Big Lebowski,� and indulge in some crap English TV. It should be a nice low-key evening. Maybe I�ll even find time to write some postcards or finish my book. Eventually Lee will make his way home and probably fine me snuggled beneath the duvet watching �Footballers Wives� or something. Ah ~ bliss!

previous - next